The capital city of Malta founded by Grandmaster Jean de Valette on March 18th 1571, Il-Belt Valletta is based in the south eastern region of the island between the Marsamxett Harbour and the Grand Harbour, overlooking the Three Cities, Bormla (Cospicua), Isla (Senglea) and Birgu (Vittoriosa). The city has garnered a population of 6,444 inhabitants as of March 2014. Since 1980, UNESCO has deemed Valletta a World Heritage Site alongside the Megalithic Temples and the Hypogeum of Hal Saflieni. Valletta was also chosen as the European Capital of Culture for 2018.

The first election of the local council was held on November 20th 1993 where actor and journalist Hector Bruno served as Mayor of Valletta from 1993 to 1999. The current members of the local council include but are not limited to local television presenter and mayor Alfred Zammit and actor Mark Spiteri Lucas.

The feast of Our Lady of Mount Carmel is celebrated on July 16, as well as that of St. Paul (also a public holiday) on February 10, St. Dominic on August 4 or before, and St. Augustine on the third Sunday after Easter. The Valletta International Baroque festival is held annually in January.

Valletta is also prominent for the annual celebration of the traditional Maltese Carnival held in February or March prior to Ash Wednesday.

Sought after sites include the Parliament House, Grandmaster’s Palace, The Courts of Justice, Auberge de Castille (also the Office of the Prime Minister of Malta), Barrakka Gardens, The Waterfront, Triton Fountain, Castille Square, St. John Square and St. George Square.

A plethora of Malta Public Transport’s bus routes operate to and from Valletta. A park and ride system was introduced in Floriana in 2006 where commuters can get to Valletta by van. Valletta is eight kilometres away from the Malta International Airport.

Neighboring towns include Floriana, Ta’ Xbiex, Msida, Hamrun, Pieta and Marsa.

Local Council
Address: 33-35, Triq it-Tezorerija, Valletta VLT1410, Malta
Telephone: (+356) 2247 9410
Email: [email protected]​​

Opening Hours
Winter Opening Hours
Monday, Wednesday & Friday: 8:30pm – 12:00pm, 2:00pm – 4:00pm
Tuesday & Thursday: 8:30am – 12:00pm
Saturday: 8:30pm – 11:00am

Summer Opening Hours
Monday to Friday: 8:30pm – 12:00pm
Saturday: 8:30pm – 11:00am

Here are some kindergartens located in the area:

San Gorg Preca College Valletta Primary

Not very far from Fort St. Elmo (Forti Sant Iermu), this state school forming part of the San Gorg Preca College has housed 180 students to date. Amenities include an Automated External Defibrillator (AED), a hall with a seating capacity of 160 people, board room, administrative offices, staff room, library, complimentary teaching room, resource room and a school ground. The college was named after Maltese catholic priest and founder of the Society of Christian Doctrine, George Preca.

The building is divided into two blocks, A & B. Unfortunately for students with mobility impairment, lifts have not yet been implemented. In the case of students with learning disabilities, there are also ten learning support assistants. Guidance teachers, speech therapists, Information Technology support teachers and science teachers visit the school once a week.

Aside from the core subjects, Art, Physical Education and Music are also taught.

Head of School: Ms. Victoria Spiteri
Assistant Head of School:

  • Ms. Marlene Spiteri
  • Mr. Marco Vella

Address: Triq il-Merkanti, Valletta VLT1178, Malta
Email: [email protected]
Telephone: (+356) 2598 7250
Fax: (+356) 2123 7541